About Us
Photo Gallery
Contact Us


National Awards

  • Life Time Achievement Award, HIV Congress-2008.
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa), Manipur University 2003.
  • DSC (Hon) University of Manipur-2003.
  • B. C. Roy Major National Award for the Year 2002.
  • Ranbaxy Science Foundation Medical Science Award (Clinical Research) 2002.
  • Prof. S. C. Seal Award, Voluntary Health Association India for outstanding Public Health Work, 2001.
  • Honorary fellow of the National Academy of Medical Sciences (India), 2001.
  • Honorary Fellow, Indian Association of Epidemiologist 2001.
  • National Academy of Medical Sciences (India) – 2001 Honorary Fellow.
  • Dr. P. N. Raju Oration Award, Indian Council of Medical Research (Kala-azar Research), 1990.
  • Prof B K Aiket Oration Award, Indian Council of Medical Research (Kala-azar Research), 1984
  • Dr. B. C. Roy’s National Award by Medical Council of India (Outstanding Teacher) 1983
  • Padmashree- 1982

Research association and invitation:

World Health Organisation, Geneva

Institute of One World Health (I.O.W.H), Sanfrancisco, USA.

  • Invited to write the first recommendation on the treatment of Kala-azar, 1982. In informal Meeting on the Chemotherapy of Visceral Leshmeniasis. WHO, Geneva TDR Chem Leish VL 82-3.
  • Member Scientific Working Group, 1983.
  • Member Steering Committee on Visceral Leshmeniasis 1983-85
  • Member Expert Committee on Kala-azar (VL), 1988-1992, 1992-1994, 1994-1998.
  • Invited for writing a book on "Control of the leishmaniasis 1990" Technical Report Series 793, WHO, Geneva.
  • Principal Investigator of WHO for trial of new drugs for treatment of Kala-azar.

Government of India

  • Chairman, Kala-azar- Spot Assessment Committee 1990-91
  • Expert Kala-azar committee to formulate prevention programme for Kala-azar, 1991.
  • Invited as a guest speaker by Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India to give a guest lecture in The 2nd Global Meet on Parasitic Diseases in Hyderabad- Dr. Ross's Centenary celebration 1997.

Government of Bihar

  • Member, Advisory Committee on Kala-azar, 1990-93

Indian Council of Medical Research

  • Indo UK Seminar on Kala-azar, 1982-93
  • Member of the Indo- USA team to Washington for Vaccine Development Programme, 1992
  • Chairman- UNDP sponsored core group discussion on Kala-azar, 1993.
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Committee, Rajendra Memorial Institute.
  • Best Editor, Indian Journal Medical Research on special issues of "Leishmaniasis" 2004.


  • Stood first in MBBS from Patna Medical College (1952-57) with Honours, Gold Medals, College and University Scholarships.
  • Wheeler Gold Medal for highest marks in final M.B.B.S
  • Sifton Gold Medal for highest marks in Medicine.
  • Stephenson Gold Medal for highest marks in Surgery.
  • Highest marks in Pathology
  • Topped the list of final MBBS and part I taken together.
  • PC Talent prize for standing first in final and M.B.B.S II
  • M.D. (Doctor of Medicine), Patna University - 1960
  • M.R.C.P. (Member of Royal College Physicians) London 1963.
  • M.R.C.P. (Member of Royal College of Physicians) Edinburgh, 1962


  • Fellow of Royal College of Physicians (FRCP), Edinburgh, U. K., 1977.
  • Fellow of Royal College of Physicians (FRCP), London, U. K., 1978.
  • Fellow of Indian College of Medical Specialist, Indian Medical Association
  • Founder Fellow Association on Physicians of India.

Between 1957-1981
Dr. Thakur worked as Assistant Professor of Medicine, Associate Professor and Professor of Medicine, Patna Medical College. Emeritus Professor of Medicine, Patna Medical College, Patna.

Membership of Different Scientific Organisations

  • Indian Medical Association
  • Member of Association of Physicians of India
  • Cardiological Society of India
  • Indian Institute of Business Administration, New Delhi, has served as member on the Governing bodies of different organisations, chaired scientific sessions and organised various seminars and conferences.
Home | About Us | Activities | Publications |Contact Us
Best viewed using IE6 or above with 1024 X 768 resolution. | Webmail